Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please see screen shot and let me know if you have a work around for this :thumb:
Tried running it on Windows 7 virtual machine with no joy and now tried it also on VMplayer using XP with pack 3 and tried it in pack 2 as administrator also, didnt work either, get the odd time it lets me in like 1 in 10 but not for long:mad:
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Sorry image so small, it says

WINCAD caused a general protection fault in module WIN87EM.DLL at
0001:02C9
Choose close WINCAD will close
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,733 Posts
Try this -


Find the following files:

About PP2000 \APP\PPS\defaults\pref\winpref.js
About Lexia \APPLIC\Portail\defaults\pref\winpref.js

and change parameter

from: pref("plugin.scan.plid.all", true); to: ---> pref("plugin.scan.plid.all", false);
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Try this -


Find the following files:

About PP2000 \APP\PPS\defaults\pref\winpref.js
About Lexia \APPLIC\Portail\defaults\pref\winpref.js

and change parameter

from: pref("plugin.scan.plid.all", true); to: ---> pref("plugin.scan.plid.all", false);
Ok... Still scratching my head, any idea's what path to take to find them as not in the program files-Diagbox folder:confused:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
170 Posts
Bumping an old thread but just in case it helps anyone else.

This issue seems to be to do with virtual machines, there is a work around which I have come across for VMWare Player, but nothing I could find for Oracles VirtualBox. VMWare Player is free, so no reason not to give it a try:

https://communities.vmware.com/people/jmattson/blog/2012/03

Basically add
Code:
monitor_control.enable_rigorous_fpu_save_restore = TRUE
to the bottom of your .vmx configuration file.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
I had the same WINCAD error issue when seeking to run the latest 25.01 version on XP SP3 VMWare Player v12 and tried all the above with no joy.

I have fixed it though and now runs with no problem. It seems that there is an issue with the latest Intel processors and their floating point calculation operations when running old 16bit programs (like PP2000) in a virtual instance. It is in effect a hardware not a software issue.
The only solution is to switch off the floating point calcs, fortunately this seems to have little impact on the speed with which PP2000 runs.

I found the below instructions on a Virtual Box forum:

In the virtual machine instance-

1. Download "Winfloat.exe" to your VM.
2. Double-click on "Winfloat.exe" to extract files to C: drive.
3. Copy “HIDE87.com” to the c:\windows\system32 directory.
4. Open the “autoexec.nt” file (c:\windows\system32\autoexec.nt) with a text editor like Wordpad.
5. Add “lh c:\windows\system32\HIDE87.com” to the “autoexec.nt” file.
6. Save the file, and exit.
7. Reboot the Virtual Machine.
8. Done!

This worked for me :thumb:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,805 Posts
Please see screen shot and let me know if you have a work around for this :thumb:
Tried running it on Windows 7 virtual machine with no joy and now tried it also on VMplayer using XP with pack 3 and tried it in pack 2 as administrator also, didnt work either, get the odd time it lets me in like 1 in 10 but not for long:mad:
crazycarl's suggestion worked for me, it seems to stop the conflict with the virtual drive.

However, just from my own experience, the virtual drive eventually became glitchy after this little script was installed - it might just only be me.

It's definitely worth giving a go however.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I had the same WINCAD error issue when seeking to run the latest 25.01 version on XP SP3 VMWare Player v12 and tried all the above with no joy.

I have fixed it though and now runs with no problem. It seems that there is an issue with the latest Intel processors and their floating point calculation operations when running old 16bit programs (like PP2000) in a virtual instance. It is in effect a hardware not a software issue.
The only solution is to switch off the floating point calcs, fortunately this seems to have little impact on the speed with which PP2000 runs.

I found the below instructions on a Virtual Box forum:

In the virtual machine instance-

1. Download "" to your VM.
2. Double-click on "Winfloat.exe" to extract files to C: drive.
3. Copy “HIDE87.com” to the c:\windows\system32 directory.
4. Open the “autoexec.nt” file (c:\windows\system32\autoexec.nt) with a text editor like Wordpad.
5. Add “lh c:\windows\system32\HIDE87.com” to the “autoexec.nt” file.
6. Save the file, and exit.
7. Reboot the Virtual Machine.
8. Done!

This worked for me :thumb:
Amazing!

Thanks, also worked for me!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,916 Posts
4. Open the “autoexec.nt” file (c:\windows\system32\autoexec.nt) with a text editor like Wordpad.
I would recommend using notepad rather than wordpad.

Wordpad is more an RTF editor than a true text editor and may introduce formatting characters into the saved file and possibly prevent the instructions being carried out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
78 Posts
Bumping an old thread but just in case it helps anyone else.

This issue seems to be to do with virtual machines, there is a work around which I have come across for VMWare Player, but nothing I could find for Oracles VirtualBox. VMWare Player is free, so no reason not to give it a try:

https://communities.vmware.com/people/jmattson/blog/2012/03

Basically add
Code:
monitor_control.enable_rigorous_fpu_save_restore = TRUE
to the bottom of your .vmx configuration file.
This is the fix for 0001:02C6 error and not 02C9

Or is it supposed to be the same?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
78 Posts
Try this -


Find the following files:

About PP2000 \APP\PPS\defaults\pref\winpref.js
About Lexia \APPLIC\Portail\defaults\pref\winpref.js

and change parameter

from: pref("plugin.scan.plid.all", true); to: ---> pref("plugin.scan.plid.all", false);
In case anyone will find it in the future - this did not work for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I know, old thread, but ...

Does anyone else have the file winfloat.exe?
or only HIDE87.COM

Could he send me, please?
needs to unlock PP2000 with a WINCAD error on the VBox virtual machine
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top