Peugeot Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I am new here and unfortunately my first post is not a very happy one.

My apologies, this is quite lengthy.

I bought my 206 4 years ago next month, I own the car outright.

Here is my problem:

A few weeks ago she broke down. The RAC took it to the closest garage, I went away on holiday for a week and came back to be told they couldn't fix it.

I had a friend tow it to another garage nearby on the advice of the first garage and had a diagnostic ran on it.

Turns out the coil has went and there has been a power surge and the ECU is fried.

They tell me its an uneconomical repair, as a new ECU would cost over £700 not inc. VAT or fitting or anything. This is confirmed by 2 pug garages.

I find someone who will take the car off me for scrap for £200, however this will only jsut cover the amount I've spent getting the thing diagnosed.

However, I am a student and didn't particularly want to buy a new car and plus, I like my 206!

So, last ditch attempt, I called Peugeot Ecosse in Bo'ness.
They reckon they can fix, it goes in to them and they confirm that they can fix it.

The overall costs for all this is just under £500, which is A LOT but that includes diagnostic from 2nd garage, getting the car towed to Ecosse, replacement ECU, new coil, labour and VAT.
So i would have been prepared to part with that rather than part with my pug.

However,

My MOT is due in about 3 weeks, so Ecosse offered to give it a quick once over just to give an idea of what work would be needing done.
Quite a lot.
Brakes, hand brake, tyre, bulb, axle bearings, something to do with the steering.... basically it won't be cheap and probably not far off last years £412 MOT.
And thats just the things they could look at without the car running.

This brings the cost up to just under a grand.
My little pug just isn't worth that much money.