Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
273 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

I've got some clutch judder in 1st gear only and only when cold starting and when the motor is cold the engine is rocking back and forth a little that you can feel in the car on idle at 800rpm.

My local garage (trusted) has said the clutch is on its last legs and the vibration could be the DMF. The car has done 93k and the service history I have from previous owner doesn't have anything for clutch or DMF replacement.

I've priced a solid flywheel conversion with clutch kit from Valeo at £280 inc vat which is a cracking price. Garage want £276 in labour so £556 in total.

Now i'm not made of money and im not convinced my DMF has gone because there is no vibration though the clutch pedal, no low grumble or squeak and the engine is vibe free when running above idle and no issue in changing gear. Also the clutch travel is still good, it engages about half way, im no expert on clutch and DMF. I'd like to just get the clutch changed so what does everyone think about the DMF and the price and is a Solid worth going for?

Cheers
PB

J

·
0 Posts
That's good for a DMF, could be tribute to a very carefully driven 93k miles. Is there much service history anyway?

You have got a pretty average quote for the solid conversion. For any more information use the search feature on this site, I have written so many times about the solid conversions.

·
11,766 Posts
How much is the DMF?

I'd imagine that you won't be keeping the car to the time when its up for replacement again, so if the price is the same I'd go with a like for like as nige says.

·
Registered
273 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hi all,

DMF and clutch kit is only £40 more than the solid kit. Plan to keep the car for a few years yet as it's solid and in great condition and it's cheap to tax and insure :)

·
Registered
273 Posts
Discussion Starter #6