Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all, first post here.

Basically, front off side spring snapped Monday (fortunately just as I was driving off from home, and not at speed), so had the two springs replaced at the same time even though the near side was fine.

Car is a '57 1.6s.

Apart from removing the old and installing the new springs, I did all the removal and replacement of the struts myself along with a family member. We also replaced the drop links with new ones. Everything went according to plan. I've done this before on a different vehicle, first time on this car, so not a complete noob but I'm nowhere near a technician/mechanic. :)

The issue is now at low speeds, from around say 5-30 mph, and only when accelerating, you can feel a slight vibration throughout the car. It doesn't happen all the time, and I can't tell where exactly it comes from. It seems to occur more when turning the steering and accelerating, like coming out of a junction, but also happens when going straight.

So we had a look at the top of the struts, to see if the nut on each was tightened enough. It's a 21mm nut that will turn with the shock itself, so you insert a 7 allen to hold the shock in place. Try as hard as we could, we can't get them to tighten more. There's still a very slight space between the bodywork and the bottom of the round metal plate under the nut (the attached picture shows where I mean). This space is present on both struts, and widens a bit when you turn the steering from lock to lock. Is this normal? I can't remember if it was like that before we disassembled them. I thought maybe we needed to tighten a little more to eliminate the vibration, but the little we could manage to turn them, it made no difference, it's still present.