Peugeot Forums banner
1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,

It seems that my attempt to fix my RT4 with a compact flash card instead of the normal HDD has caused a bit of interest so I thought I would summarise how I performed the upgrade. There were a few gotchas that I discovered on the way and I will try to include these.

I don't know how to post more than one photo at a time so I will have to attach the pictures of the hardware at the end of this and in a subsequent post.

Although I am happy to answer any questions I am far from an expert and all work is done at your own risk. Here we go...

For a few months my RT4 has been playing up. It would fail to boot up - especially on a cold morning. After a few minutes of running and multiple resets it would spring to life. I tried a new battery and tested the alternator but nothing worked. After a bit of rooting around I was finally hoping it was the HDD failing.

I bought an adapter from eBay which converts a compact flash card to an IDE hard drive. Following tips from an Australian forum I ensured that it was a full 44 pin adapter with master/slave jumper. Cost me £1.95 including postage from a seller called enanopro.

I bought a 32Gb compact flash card from Maplin for £39.95. The brand is that very well known make iFlash...

I then managed to get my system to start up and upgraded to V8.31 of the firmware on the old disc. I downloaded the image from GPS underground and burnt it on to a Verbatim CD at 24x. Although people recommend you do it slower. The reasons for the upgrade was important to me become clear later on.

I removed the head unit using a torx end shaped Allen key. And carefully removed the BSI plug from the back. Carefully tilting the unit forwards slightly and resting it on the gear knob allowed me to undo the 4 more torx shaped screws on the top. This then allows access to the CD drive which you can very carefully lift off and get to the HDD.