Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 159 Posts
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys

One thing I miss on my 307 1.4 HDi is the trip computer.

So...thinking abour a retro fit...

Anyone seen anything written on the subject?

Assuming its not been done before, my theory is that it should be simple... he says not having done his research!

Assumption 1- OK, start with the button on the stalk. I could pick up another comm2000 unit, or, thinking aloud there, open the stalk I have...and see if there is a pcb/fitting for a switch for the stalk button. I doubt if peugeot made different mouldings just for that. Plan B is to get a duff one and disect it (anyone got one cheap?).

Assumption2 - do the buttons on the comm2000 unit all speak over CAN?

Assumption 3 - The comm2000 unit has a CAN controller within it, and only the bus leaves the comm2000 unit (plus airbag, horn etc (infact Horn may be CAN too...))

Assumption 4 - Activate the trip computer in Planet - My assumption is that the sensors are present already, so it will hopefully be an easy "switch on" to enable the functionality. Has anyone seen this as an option in Planet?

Assumption 5 - Even with no button on the stalk, if activated in Planet, then you should get the default trip info(whatever it is) in the dash display.

Assumption 6 - All other sensors are already fitted to the car - the trip function is just making use of existing data.


Ok - can anyone confirm or reject any of the above assumptions?!?!?

David :thumb:
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
OK!

Assumtion 4 hopefully answered - in planet:

"Trip computer/display/data communication ECU

PC auto micro"

Sound hopefull?
 
S

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Interesting this one, and i hope you find an answer because i want a trip display as well!

Assumption 1 - i would say they are probably all built the same with certain features enabled or disabled via various ecu's



Assumption 2 - I beleive so

Assumption 3 - i'd say the majority of stuff will be leaving via can, if not all of it (which is most likely) cant find any info about this yet though

Assumption 4 - Cant comment, dont have a planet :(

Assumption 5 - Read somewhere that the default display is the date so you might not have any luck here!

Assumption 6 - Will use data already present yeah!

If you do try this let me know how you get on, or if you are close to cheshire i'll volunteer my car as a guinea pig!

If you have a planet can you have a look and see if you can enable front fogs anywhere, my replacement lights have them in but they dont work, true i'm not sure where the switch is anyway!

Could get interesting this one! keep me posted! :thumb:
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi - and thanks for the reply.

I have Planet ordered, so am waiting patiently for a real play! I kinda thought that as I needs the CD head unit, a key and the trip computer working buying would be a good idea.

If the date is default, then it may be enabled already.

I have been trying to track down COMM2000 wiring diagram to no avail.... that would help.


What I did notice is that it appears you have two arrows on the trip stalk if the switch is fitted, and, if no arrows, you will probably find that the button does travel in/out, but to no avail obviously. That is why I think it may be easy to place a switch inside - probably just a wee pcb switch.

So - anyone with a duff comm2000 we can disect?

Oh...did anyone mention retrofitting cruise? Seems its a very easy job on "most" 307's..... amazing what you find when you start to really look...

David
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
bettyswollocks said:
this is going to be an interesting outcome BESTGEAR can`t wait.:lick:

...keep watching the horizon... if you see smoke...it will me ME!!!

David
 
S

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
bettyswollocks said:
this is going to be an interesting outcome BESTGEAR can`t wait.:lick:
Agreed! if it pays off it'll make me think twice about paying a bit more for cars with the optional extras, why buy them when bestgear can steal them for you hehe :lol:
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
So = retrofit of cruise..?

Any interest?

Been done before on the 307.... and fuels the resentment of the Dealer accessory high list price...

David
 
S

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I'd like to have it but i get the feeling a different comm2000 will be needed

And my previous post about me thinking all comm2000's will be a standard unit with the features controlled by ecu was wrong, apologies there :(

martin found one on ebay that quite clearly shows a white arrow for the trip display, mine doesnt have this bit!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
77 Posts
oe mods on pug can systems usually work out very very expensive, for your trip computer to work im pretty sure you car will have to have ABS fitted as standard, this is certainly the case with modifying the RD4 head unit to the RT3 to have the sat nav, and its all related, as the information is taken from the ABS wheel sensors
i have a spare steerring com unit from my 407 that has trip compter stalk, but as i say, without ABS i dont think its going to work
my experience is only with the 407, but planet will only allow activations if the BSI is capable of doing it, if you are trying to do something the bsi is not capable of, you wont be taking it any further
check if your car has ABS first, then when you get planet, see what options it will allow to be added, there are a lot of things that you may need to change wiring looms for, but this should be one that you dont if you have ABS
ONE INPORTANT NOTE, unless you really know what you are doing, because of the airbag system and the calibration of the com unit, to change the com unit go to the daler or a garage that knows what they are doing, yes the com unit has to be calibrated and there is a specific way of taking apart and re-fitting
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Hi

Thanks for the steer and advice on this.

The car does have ABS, which, I *think* all 307s have... which is nice.

As a "learner" with Planet, (but no stranger to other factory diags) I will take it nice and easy.

I will take it a step at a time and see what happens... worth a try no doubt.

David
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Guys

I was lucky, and picked up a used COMM2000 unit today which has the trip computer button.

So - I just need to find the time to carefully disect the whole unit and see what gives...

Thought it would be better to go boldly on a unit that was not really owe me anything!

I guess I should take some pictures too...

Plan A is to see if a switch is retrofittable into a non-trip stalk, and plan B is to move over the trip-stalk onto my existing COMM2000.

One thing I thing was worth checking is that the COMM2000 unit I just aquired is the same make of unit as the one on the car... at least that was the stalks have a chance of being interchangeable. There appear to be three different manufacturers of the unit, so swapping stalks may be a no-no unless they are the same make. Lets hope...

One other thing that has crossed my mind is that the COMM2000 bus controller which will be within the COMM2000 unit may not be programmed for the switch in my own unit. If this is the case, there will be no way outside of the component production line that we can update the code... I *very* much doubt if any dealer diags would go to that level within a sub-assembly.

Anyway - the adventure begins....

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
77 Posts
not quite sure what you are trying to achieve by disecting the com 2000 unit, why not just get it swapped over, when i upgraded my head unit i had the dealer do exactly that, as i wanted the voice commands, which is just like you are doing but the additional button is on the indicator stalk

you may find that what you are trying to achieve as an end result is as simple as fitting the com unit and programming the bsi and display with planet (i could be wrong) but ill bet im not far off

how many electrical sockets on the rear of your new com unit, do they correspond with those on the com unit in your car, and are all the sockets on the com unit used by the loom, if the sockets correspond and are all used in your car, ill bet you almost there
 
S

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Keep us posted on this one, very interested to see how it all pans out!

Things have changed a lot since my last car, a wire here, a snip there, some tape wrapped around, and i could add allsorts in, all this tech boggles my mind haha!
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Guys

Been doing some more research, as the COMM2000 unit has still not arrived...

Having spent a while going through the wiring schematique (See, I can speak french now..) it really looks like adding the switch may do it. If not, I may need to swap over the comm2000 controller board too, so that the command from the switch hits the bus.

Apart from the COMM unit, its down to the BSI and the display unit... nothing else appears involved in the equasion. Given the COMM "option" above, the display unit is common (part numbers) with or without trip, so it could be back to the BSI and I dont believe other than a coding issue, the BSI would be any different across options.


On the subject of cruise, it looksl like other than the cruise stalk, we will need to add the "cruise control override switch" (clutch) and secondary brake "cruise control saftey switch" as the other devices are already present.

407MAD - yes, I can confirm that the cruise uses BOTH front ABS sensors, which are already fitted to UK 307s.

Anyway - its all gas until its working....

David
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #18 (Edited)
Guys - a small update.

The COMM2000 unit arrived, and as thought, it was the same make as the one on the car, so the "plastics" will be swappable.

I have stripped the "new" unit for a look, and its an easy peasy job to get it in bits thankfully, two screws (not torx!) and then it unclips apart.

I can see where the indicator "fault" happens... much as it fails on a early Focus - same kind of mechanism - At least I now have a spare for that too!

The stalks are fairly easily removed, being held in by the two pivot points clicking into place. There is also one small connector on trailing wires to the main PCB from each stalk - these connecting through the buttons/switch ON the stalk...

So - thats one bit in bits... need to get the existing one of the car and get it stripped....

Anyway - I have another trick up my sleeve that may just make this so easy - more on that if it does actually work out!


David
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
Hi Guys

I had some time tonight, so had a play with the car and am glad to report that the retrofit of the trip computer is complete....

I will do a write up and post it when I get a min...

The addition will in most cases not require a new comm2000 unless you dont want a small dashboard mounted switch....and even then, I have a trick to save changing the comm2000.....

David
 
S

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Spot on great work there dave

You'll have to give us a full write up of how you got this going!

wondering if it will still work without the standard stereo in place?

:thumb:
 
1 - 20 of 159 Posts
Top