Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all!
I'm new to the forum and just wanted to say THANK YOU ALL! Lots of great info here regarding troubleshooting tips & tricks! :thumb:

I recently ran into som trouble, tought i could share the story for anyone with simmilar experiences/symptoms. I always like to keep the car maintained, and fix problems right away when they appear. I'm just a hobby mechanic, but with a little bit of research and commitment you probably will manage to find the fault/root cause and set it straight.

The car:
Peugeot 307, 1.6L 16v Petrol
Year: 2001
KM: 215000
Engine: TU5JP4 (DOHC)
Car been in my ownership since 2010.

The problem:
While driving uphill, -heavy engine load/high RPM, suddently engine power dropped dramatically and at the same time got shaking in the car. Display flashed "CATALYTIC CONVERTER FAULT", and "ANTI POLLUTION FAULT" and the engine lamp lit up. I had little tools to dig into it much where I was standing roadside in the middle of nowhere, but managed to check some basics. -The engine ran, and the car would start again after beeing stopped, but still with the same shaking and warning messages in display. I suspected the engine to only run on 3 of 4 cylinders. Pulled of the coilpack and the sparkplugs. The sparkplugs in Cylinder 1-2-3 were normal, but on cylinder 4 it was wet. With the help of a jumpstart cord and some helping hands i did a spark test of the coilpack. I had spark on all 4 sparkplugs.. Indicating that something serious wrong was going on inside the engine block. Decided to try limping my way back home anyway, even tough it was a 2 hour drive. -
Really not healthy for the catalytic converter, but took my chances.

Finding the fault:
So managed to get all the way back home, and the troubleshooting continued. I started with a compression test on each cylinder. Cylinder 1-2-3 was normal. Cylinder 4 had ZERO compression :( No compression - no fire.