Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok here we go....apologies upfront,as Im NO mechanic :confused:

Driving home today.....car started to lose power and wouldnt go much over 20mph.

Carried on for a while....power/revs getting lower and lower!

Pulled over....very hot!

Checked levels,let her cool down.

Carried on for a mile....broke down!!!! :(

Just about restart....no revs when pressing accelerator??

Then I see....white smoke / steam from exhaust :eek:

Ring mechanic friend....maybe head gasket?

He told me to check dipstick.....pull it out (dipstick that is) and OIL errupts everywhere from dipstick tube!!

So....get her taken home!!

Also have since noticed....that the air pipe is missing the part that was attached to the grill?????????

Result is now.....car starts....put foot to floor....no revs at all!!!!!!!!

And it just stalls!!!

So....any advice?? Is she dead?? Head gasket maybe??

I have attached a pic of where the pipe is missing!!!

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

·
Registered
821 Posts
The air pipe thingy is normal, all 407's are like that. Did you get any faults or engine management light? When was the last time regular service was done?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
no faults...no lights.....nothing lol

As for the service thing....not sure lol

Only had car 6 months...and STILL waiting for service history book to be posted to me :confused:

·
Registered
821 Posts
ah sheet.. to me that sounds almost as if something went wrong with valves or pistons. sorry im not much of a help as i dont know much about those things either, but someone will be along shortly who will be able to help you out.

in mean time i suggest you start looking into your options for mechanic and trying to figure out if you have any warranty or any protection you could use as you just have bought the car. was it a private sale or from dealer?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks lol