Peugeot Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I just bought a 2001 206 1.1 w/ 69k miles. Drove it around sparingly for about a week, and everything was great.

Suddenly, out of the blue, there's a noise - a high-pitched rubbing or scraping sound - that comes whenever the clutch is engaged, in neutral and driving around (doesn't change in tone as you accelerate), and disappears when I press the pedal.

I've seen throwout/release bearing mentioned when the noise happens in the opposite circumstances - when you press the pedal to disengage the clutch. Is it possibly the culprit here, too? I'm hoping to avoid a clutch replacement, as I'm a poor postgrad student.

· Registered
2,540 Posts
I'm not a gearbox expert - in fact I've never had much trouble with them. I would say the answer would be to change the gearbox. Some people take a chance on a second-hand box from a breaker, but a better course would be a reconditioned box from a reputable rebuilder, with a guarantee - shop around for quotes.

If you want to try a low cost fix first, check whether the oil is topped up, and perhaps try an oil change, but it sounds like the damage is done.

Did you perhaps get a guarantee from the seller? if so, I would take it back.

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Thanks again.

Bought the car from someone I trust who said it had no known problems, and I have no reason to think he knew anything was up, potentially, with the gearbox. Only paid £100 for the car - he pretty much just wanted to give it to someone who would make good use of it.

I'll take it to a shop to see what they think (hopefully can get a diagnosis and estimate for free or low cost), and maybe try a gearbox oil change if they think it's worth it.