Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, everyone, my son-in-law has just bought a 2002 307 1.4 HDI, and I want to help him get it sorted, but, although I have had lots of experience of DIY on cars, I have absolutely no experience with Diesel engines, and I don't know anyone who I can call on for Peugeot help! (can anyone recommend a mechanic near Stoke on Trent?)
The car seems to drive absolutely fine, but on 2 or 3 occasions it has come up with "anti-pollution fault" message and cut out on an approach to a roundabout or junction, together with "stop" warning light, refusing to rev and causing potential danger to life and limb, not to mention harming the confidence of a new driver! What a dangerous system Peugeot have come up with there! A few minutes later it is driving perfectly again, and I have driven it for miles trying to get it to do it to me so I can reassure him on what to do but it won't do it to order!
I bought an OBD 2 code reader to try and get some indication of the fault but keep getting "linking error" message (it works fine on my Saab!). Can anyone help please?
P.S. there are some cut wires under the seat and the airbag light is on, just thought i'd mention that in case it could have any relevance! I'll be posting another thread about that one!

·
Registered
5,906 Posts
What a dangerous system Peugeot have come up with there! A few minutes later it is driving perfectly again
All cars except pre ecu have this in the software and have done so for several years. How is this more dangerous than the car not giving any warning then cutting out completely leaving the driver stranded. At least with the limp home mode, you can do just that - limp home. You can at least get the car somewhere and get it repaired rather than having to pay to get it towed to a garage of unknown reputation.