Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I am hoping someone could put my mind at rest.:confused:

I had my clutch changed on Friday 8th May by Mr Clutch.:nono: I've had the vehicle since Feb last year, I've done best part of 40k on this clutch and noticed it started to overheat and slip, so decided to get it changed. When I got it back from Mr Clutch, I noticed it shudders/judders in 1st or reverse when lifting the pedal to engage the gear and move. Took it back Saturday afternoon and the 'Fitter' test drove it and said it is fine, the manager then said that you have to let these things 'bed in' ?!?!?!?!

Now I'm no qualified mechanic by a long shot, (but I can do most mechanics, just never a gearbox or clutch) but I have driven a fair few miles in the past 20 years of driving, in different vehicles with different types of clutch and only experienced the shudder/judder when the clutch is on its way out and needs replacing.

The question I'm after an answer to is, 'Should my new clutch shudder/judder and need bedding in?' as they say?? I have never experienced this before on a new clutch. Any advice or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
15,101 Posts
Sometimes they do judder a little but you don't tell us much info there are various clutches can be fitted to a 04-07 expert as it can have more than 1 engine !

check the bellhousing bolts are tight these being a bit loose can cause judder

·
Registered
15,101 Posts
Still a choice of 2 :)

8 valve and 16 valve but the clutch system is basically the same its a pull type clutch problem is with the pull clutch if you have a judder then the bearing can sometimes get pulled back out the cover I recommend you go back and tell them it was not like that before and it has not bedded in.

Does it have a dual mass flywheel and if so was this changed or just a clutch

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I believe it to be the 16v.