Peugeot Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I have just purchased a used Peugeot 206 HDI diesel 1.4 litre engine. I know nothing about cars and eager to learn so that i have some general knowledge on my vehicle. It is my first car and currently learning to drive.

I was told that the car smokes slightly once started up and that this is normal for Diesel engines. I have had few people to confirm that this is normal for Diesels.

Is this normal?!

Briefly: Its a pale white smoke with a slight smell of Diesel on start up with a chug sound to the engine. It lasts as long as the car is cold and once the car has been running and had chance to warm up its fine...no smoke and no chugging.

Any solutions?! If there is something wrong, would you cost much to fix?! Is it just in need of a good service? Could anyone adivce anything?!

Thanks
Zoe xxx:)

·
Registered
3 Posts
Penny206 said:
Hi,

I have just purchased a used Peugeot 206 HDI diesel 1.4 litre engine. I know nothing about cars and eager to learn so that i have some general knowledge on my vehicle. It is my first car and currently learning to drive.

I was told that the car smokes slightly once started up and that this is normal for Diesel engines. I have had few people to confirm that this is normal for Diesels.

Is this normal?!

Briefly: Its a pale white smoke with a slight smell of Diesel on start up with a chug sound to the engine. It lasts as long as the car is cold and once the car has been running and had chance to warm up its fine...no smoke and no chugging.

Any solutions?! If there is something wrong, would you cost much to fix?! Is it just in need of a good service? Could anyone adivce anything?!

Thanks