Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! Complete newbie here, so many thanks in advance for any advice you can offer.
I have a 207 GT CC, 1598 cylinder capacity, from 2007.
Bought for my wife, and she LOVES it, because a local artist covered it in unicorns!
I took it in because the clutch was slipping, only to find I need a new gearbox (apparently the box is leaking oil, which is coating the clutch, causing the slipping).
I have a local mechanic who says he can do the gearbox change, only we can't find a matching gearbox ANYWHERE!
The code on the existing box is: 20CQ48.
This code barely gets a hit on Google, let alone eBay.
I also can't find it listed on Partsfinder in the list of gearboxes for this model of car.
However, there seem to be dozens of similar-coded boxes floating around. My question is, does this code have to match EXACTLY? Or can I use, for example, a 20CQ46 gearbox? Or a 20CQ88, which seem to be everywhere?!
My mechanic is concerned that the box code must match exactly, but I'm finding mixed opinions online. HELP!!!
Thank-you so much, people!
Best wishes,
Tony

·
Registered
14,277 Posts
The numbers vary over the years and if the box is from the same car with the same engine it fits regardless of code i have 1 here but im not ready to strip it just yet

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys!

Xlineiain, I'm a complete non-technical dude, so a local mechanic is handling it. He seems to think the box is knackered, so looks like I'll have to replace the whole thing :(

Reliable, good to know, mate, thanks! Is there a way I can tell a gearbox will fit, like matching the model number and CC etc?
I noticed on a reply to someone in a similar situation a while back you noticed they had a 'Prince' engine, and so were stuck with the one box code. Is this the case for my car? I know I shouldn't, but I'm doing amateur Google-sleuthing, and probably just scaring myself ;)

·
Registered