Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

Is they any guides to replacing the front driver side brake pipe? Now I've never done anything like this before. Never even bled the brakes. So this is all new to me.

Seems strate forward enough (famous last words).

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
I would put some cling film under the master cylinder cap then loosen the small nut connecting the metal pipe to the flexible pipe then the large nut that holds the pipe on the wing, lastly the nut on the flexible pipe to the caliper. Be GENTLE, if the nuts don't come undone spray some penetrating fluid and leave for a few mins. If still stubborn try tightening the nut a fraction then loosening. Once everything is loose quick as you can disconnect the pipe, screw the new one into the caliper and then the fixings on the wing, the torque reading for the nuts is very low only, 15Nm (1.5kg at the end of a metre long spanner) so don't go mad. I use a spot of locking fluid on the threads but this isn't really necessary.
Once everything is back in place carefully loosen the bleed nipple and attach a length of clear washer pipe. Open the master cylinder and remove the cling film, top it up. START THE ENGINE. Get your good lady to press the brake pedal and shout when its at the bottom of its travel, finger tighten the bleed screw, get her to let the pedal back up, open the bleed screw and repeat. Should only need about 6 pumps or so. Stop the engine top up the master cylinder and check the feel of the pedal, if it feels different from before try bleeding again. Hopefully it will be OK but sometimes pressure bleeding is needed to get the air out of the pipework.

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Seems easy enough then really.
Thanks.

Has anyone els noticed the pipe wearing down by rubbing?

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #4