Peugeot Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

After purchasing peugeot plannet i have now realized that my OBDII Connector is faulty and i need a little help sorting it out. I am not very good with the electrical side of things but i am mechanically minded and would like to try and sort it out with a little guidance from other forum members.

So here goes, after researching the DBDII connector i found a youtube video showing how to check that it works here is the link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0e-9_...eature=related

According to that video i should have a reading of 3.5v on pin 7 and i dont. This must be the reason PP wont talk to my cars ECU as it is the engine and gearbox diagnostic pin.

I should also have 12v on pin 16 and mine reads 18.4v so im guessing something is wrong here too???

Can someone help me fix the above problems or advice me on where to start. I have tried checking the fuses and they all seem fine so i dont really know where to go from here. The car is a 2002 406 HDI 90 if that helps.

Thanks

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes thats the one. No stereo in at the moment its sitting downstairs ready to be recoded when pp is up and running.

I just going to watch it again as i could swear he said to messure the voltage on pin 7 and it should be around 3.5 and that was his problem but he dont say how he fixed it lol

G

·
midas said:
I have tried checking the fuses and they all seem fine so i dont really know where to go from here
:D :lol:

He said they found some faulty wiring and corrected it, i think, will watch again...

Edit: yeah no voltage on pin 7 so he tried a resistance test with battery disconnected, got high resistance so worked out it was a short to ground

Can be caused by faulty ECU's, water, bad wiring

Think you need to do a resistance check next, using a better earth point than the *** lighter :D

G

·