Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I have just read Terry57's post about Low Boost and noticed a reference to the use of EGR Cleaner. I am quite new to deisel cars and never knew that this product existed.

My 2.0 HDi 90 has the dreaded anti pollution light on and on planet it shows:
EGR Consistancy Air Flow
EGR Air Flow high

Would EGR Cleaner help get rid of this fault and how do I use it?

All thoughts greatly appreciated

Thanks

Mick

·
Registered
350 Posts
There are a few cleaners available and it might help you but most of them are a preventative and it might not be enough to free off the valve. Halfords have a few options. Wynns egr cleaner for the fuel system and an aerosol based intake and egr cleaner to spray into the intake. I'd recommend you try both methods and if it doesn't work then look into a guide on here for removal or blanking if removal is not an option.

My advice is put a bottle of egr cleaner or better yet Miller's oil in the tank about 3x stronger than recommended and spray a full can of the aerosol type down the intake and hope it sounds like a bag of spanners followed by some fuss and smoke and then hopefully a working egr valve lol.

Ps: use the intake spray while the engine is warm. Pull a pipe going to the intake and spray as much as you can in one go. The engine will rev on it's own and may stall but it may do the trick.

·
Registered
350 Posts
It might do. It may just do the opposite and give a low flow error. I'd blank it off anyway as it will fix your running problems. If the fault goes away after 3 ignition cycles then it has.

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
That is the thing though.

I have not got any running problems, it runs great.

the only thing I have got is the engine management light on and the "Anti-pollution Fault" message every time I start it up.

It would just be nice not to have them.

·
Registered
350 Posts