Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello friendly forum. I am a complete newbie here.

My wife's 207 has a problem.

I opened the drivers door today and heard a clink like a piece of metal falling.

Now the door won't close - meets resistance about 9inche's from closed.

I reckon it's a trim off job but can anyone please point me in the direction of what I need to look for after that?

It's a 5 door 07 model but only done 30k miles so not exactly worn out I'd have thought.

Thanks for any help. I searched this forum without success.

·
Registered
202 Posts
Hello Oxter and welcome.
On the drivers door there is what looks like an oil can shape on the hinge,if you look underneath that there are 3 holes(I think)Get some WD40 or similar and spray into these holes and gently move door back and forth till free.Hope this works for you.:thumb:

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Shep for the quick reply. I have done as you suggest. It's below the top hinge, and worked it back and fore but the same resistance is there and I certainly won't force it beyond that point.
Is that a door check mechanism?

Is it accessible to open up?

I might have to remove the door trim to see what's what.

I can report back on the solution assuming I find it!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
It looks like I need a new top hinge including the built in check mechanism.
Going to look around.
Edit . £15 plus vat from local breaker. Not too bad I guess.

·
Registered
867 Posts
Hi Oxter and welcome to the forum from me too....:thumb:

Failing all else you could always remove the door completely ~ after all its only the wife's car...:laughatl:

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks Barrowman. Does she need a car at all?
I tapped the bottom of the "can" below the hinge and sure enough there's a loose bit of of metal jumping about so I have just collected a replacement from the breaker.