Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

As I was pulling away from my drive this morning, I noticed there was a "clunk" noise whenever I turned the steering wheel.
The noise appears to be coming from the vicinity of the passenger side front wheel (as best I can tell while sat inside the car), the wheels turn OK, but it sounds as though something is stuck/seized up. I have not driven the car any more as I don't want to risk damaging anything, so I parked the car back up on the drive again.
From the small amount of steering I did, the steering itself felt to be functioning OK, although without going for a proper drive, I can't tell for sure.
I've had a quick check under the car and there is nothing obviously wrong (nothing hanging off!) but I'm not a mechanic so I don't know what to look for in more detail.
Does anyone have any idea what could be the cause of the noise?
Is it safe to drive?

The car was last driven 4 days ago without any problems/noise at all.

Peugeot 307 - HDI - 2007 - 90,000 miles

Many thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,825 Posts
I've got a 52 plate 307 2.0 hdi, and I've had the same issue - for me it was the wheel arch liner clunking against the drive shaft adjacent to the wheel. It was noticeable when going over small holes and bumps in the road, rather than turning. My issue was due to the age of the car - the retaining clips have become worn and no longer provide a decent hold of the plastic parts, so it's a case of trimming back the liner to stop it knocking.

·
Registered
453 Posts
Possibilities are in my opinion:
1) steering rack - but would expect it in both directions
2) track rod end
3) drop link
4) anti roll bar bushes
5) bottom ball joint
6) top bearing suspension leg
Or as said above catching on something

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the prompt responses guys.