Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi gang,

I had my car serviced last week and it drove home fine. It sat there over the bank holiday weekend and then when I came to drive it again my keyfob would not work. The car unlocked manually but when I put the key in the ignition it wouldn't turn over. Only once when first I turned the key it flashed up on dash display 'Anti-theft Active' or something like that. Now it just flashes an exclamation mark icon and battery icon when I attempt to turn it over. Oddly the wipers came on randomly a few times also. If I open the door with the key in the ignition I can hear a kind of electronic knocking sound repeating over and over.

I have tried my spare key with the same result, so I am assuming maybe it's the main battery causing it, but I'm no expert.

Does anybody know what may have happened? :confused:

·
Registered
202 Posts
Hi gang,

I had my car serviced last week and it drove home fine. It sat there over the bank holiday weekend and then when I came to drive it again my keyfob would not work. The car unlocked manually but when I put the key in the ignition it wouldn't turn over. Only once when first I turned the key it flashed up on dash display 'Anti-theft Active' or something like that. Now it just flashes an exclamation mark icon and battery icon when I attempt to turn it over. Oddly the wipers came on randomly a few times also. If I open the door with the key in the ignition I can hear a kind of electronic knocking sound repeating over and over.

I have tried my spare key with the same result, so I am assuming maybe it's the main battery causing it, but I'm no expert.

Does anybody know what may have happened? :confused:
Try this first matey.
get in the car

turn ignition on (dont start engine) & hold down lock button for 20 seconds

turn off & take out the key

put key back in

turn to same position as before and hold lock button for 5 seconds

take out key(wait 1 min)