Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, decided to try and get the wing looking like the rest of the car today, there's a few scratches on it so I wanted to get it looking nice.

Got some paint mixed up at halfords in an aerosol and also in a tin and brush.
This is my first time doing something like this so be easy..

I cleaned up the area with some rubbing alcohol to get rid of the grease and dirt, lightly sanded it with wet/dry 1200 and gave it a light coat of the aerosol. The color is an exact match, apart from it's dried a matte color with no shine.

I made a 2nd trip to hafords, got some clear lacquer, applied a thin coat and it's exactly the same.

So, just wanting to know what I need to do next. Read I should get some "clear coat" is this not the same as lacquer?

Should I buy a mop buffer and buff it to a shine?

Any advice is gratefully appreciated as I'm now driving around in a metallic car with a matte wing.

Cheers.

·
Registered
464 Posts
You want to put several coats of clearcoat (same as lacquer) over the wing to give it some protection. The paint itself will be basecoat which doesnt stand up well to any kind of abuse - the clear gives you both shine and protection. You may need to get some 2000 grit and give it a good wet sanding after the clear is dry, then polish it up using a clean rag (t-shirts are awesome for this) and some compound - you can get farecla g3 at halfords, or even use t-cut. Hard work without a machine polisher but utterly doable. Be careful as both the t-cut and g3 are abrasive so if you keep at it too long, you'll go through the clearcoat then you'll have to start all over again with the paint...

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #3