1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Brake Hold Function Using Electronic Parking Brake

Brake Hold: -
electric-parking-brake-1024x427.jpg
Brake Hold is pressed when the vehicle has stopped while still in the DRIVE mode of the automatic gearshift, it automatically holds the brakes. The driver is able to remove his or her foot from the brake pedal without the car rolling forward or backwards. Once the driver presses the gas pedal, the the vehicle automatically releases the brakes to allow the vehicle to start moving again. This feature is great for stop and go situation at traffic lights and heavy traffic congestion.

Peugeot 3008 does not have this Brake Hold button, but was told that the Electronic Parking Brake button can perform this same function.
Is it true?

This function is important to me as I am a handicap driver, who uses hand to control the brakes and acceleration pedals and its tiring to hold onto the brakes during traffic lights, especially in traffic congestion.
I have just booked the Peugeot 3008 1.2 Puretech EAT6 Allure, hope that I wasn't being misled.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Well, you can engage the electronic parking brake by pressing a button and it does indeed release automatically when you start moving.

I'm still not entirely sure if this is what you're looking for or something else?

·
Registered
420 Posts
Brake hold is not a button in the 3008 (or any other car I have driven/owned).

It is some kind of sensor inside the car that measures the angle the car has stopped in. If the angle is more than a specified value, then the car will automatically hold the brakes for either:

a) a few seconds before it will release and the car will start to roll, or
b) until you give enough throttle for the car to drive away

This functionality works in both drive and reverse.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·