Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,805 Posts
One will be diagbox, the other will be PP2k and Lexia.

As it happens, Diagbox has both PP2k and Lexia "built in" as part of the software, so the standalone versions of Planet and Lexia aren't really needed.

Installing Diagbox alone gives you access to Diagbox (which works better on newer models of car), Planet and Lexia (which may be better on older models).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,900 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for that swift reply. He says he has loaded, it seems, the diagbox but as my car is 2002 I have asked him to load the other disc too. I always assumed when I read all the history of these discs on the forum threads that one was for Peugeot and the other for Citroen!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,805 Posts
If you load both Planet and Diagbox, then they'll more than likely conflict with each other (diagbox will overwrite the planet files).

As you've installed diagbox, I'd try and stick with that. On my 307, I started up diagbox, but then selected planet within diagbox, as that was more cooperative with my 02 plate car than just using diagbox.

Planet is for Peugeot, and Lexia is for Citroen. Both are virtually identical to each other, except for a few different colours and the branding :D

Diagbox has/is it's own platform, which works on both, but as earlier mentioned, it has a version of both Planet and Lexia built into it already.

Maybe they'll release an update with Vauxhall/Opel as an option :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Hi Madbadandold, sorry to hijack your thread but I was wondering if you could post a link to the PP2000 diagnostic kit you purchased please, so I can purchase it also.

Many thanks in advance.

Ian
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,904 Posts
If diagbox is alreadyinstalled you cannot then install the standalone PP2000 as it complains that a newer version is already installed. He will have to uninstall diagbox and if he's lucky PP2k will then install. Sometimes, the uninstall does not remove all the registry entries so PP2k will still refuse to install resulting in having to do a clean install of windows then installing PP2k.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,900 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Yes he has got to the point that he cannot get the pp2k to load but has got Lexia on off the 2nd disc. If he leaves it like that with diagbox will that be able to give me all the info on my 2002 307 1.4HDi?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,904 Posts
Should be fine, start up diagbox, choose Peugeot as the marque then you have the choice of running Diagbox or PP2000.

The bundled PP2000 in the equivalent of a lite version or a cut down version of the standalone and doesn't always show all the ecu's. Diagbox 'should' work fully but it is a lot slower than PP2000 as it seems to me more computer resource hungry.

Theoretically, Diagbox should be fully backwards compatible and I would expect the dealers to only have the latest diagnostics and not be required to keep an unsupported older diagnostic for customers with older cars.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,900 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
So got the laptop back today and plugged it in to the car. I selected the diagbox icon and when it loaded it showed version V07.49. I then selected Peugeot 307 then van and the identification check showed the vin number and all was well. Then selection of application diagtool or Peugeot I selected diagtool. This then opened another page titled pp2000. It told me to turn on the ignition and connect the data plug and then It got to the point where the system checked the ecu and it reported The ECU has not replied!! So I thought I would start again and went to close down the pages only to find that the quit (X) selection top right was not live for either page so could not exit the program. I shut the laptop down and repeated the sequence with the same result. Now reading the forum history about pp2000 I found mention of the fact that the diesel models were not fully wired up to the 16 pin plug until 2004 and only eight pins seem to be in the plug on my car. Does this mean that diagbox is no good for this car and I need to upload the pp2000 disc fully after clearing out the diagbox disc programme?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,900 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Further to my last posting I was wondering how I can interrogate all the other systems on the car as there did not seem to be any selections on the diagbox home page to select. Can anybody tell me how it is all supposed to work?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,805 Posts
Selecting PP2000 instead of diagtool may help. When using PP2000, it'll ask you for the DAM number, which is found on the white sticker on the drivers a-frame. Using PP2000 and inputting the DAM number (which is the build number) might help eliminate your issues
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,133 Posts
Earlier Lexia clones had issues working with the 307, they did not have a full chipset or something? I know when I started researching to buy one, some of the vendors on ebay stated it would not work with the 307, that is why I bought mine from easy diagnostics as they said theirs had the full chipset and could read the 307.

Maybe this is your issue? Maybe try to find someone else with the kit that is known to read a 307 and see if it will read yours or fail like yours does.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,900 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
Thanks for info. I will try the pp2000 route thru diagbox first as suggested by jimmymarsbar. I have been working on the daughters in law Seat Altea replacing a rear right ABS sensor today. MOT time! The old one snapped off whilst trying to remove it and so I had to remove the caliper and disc to get at the remains. That had to be broken in bits to get out and the hole it mounts in had to be filed etc with next to no clearance and even then the new one took an age to get in place. But at least it fixed it, unlike my 307 ABS saga. The front right is the culprit and I have replaced the sensor and the stub axle and still it wont work. Hope to get back on it tomorrow.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,805 Posts
If you anticipate using the software only on your car or other cars of a similar age, you could just bin Diagbox and stick with PP2000. I guess it's a matter of preference. I prefer PP2000, but use diagbox as I often need to plug in to newer models than my old 307.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,900 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
Quite honestly I doubt if I ever buy another PSA car! Although I am impressed with the overall car as a car they have too much going wrong and not enough help from the dealers as they are only there to fleece you as they just go through the motions changing bits that do not fix it instead of doing all the basic detective work on the basics before deciding its a component. That is not to say I wont have to use the system on another car if asked. This car was my standby and the mot runs out in may and if the ABS is not fixed then it might have to be scrapped. Shame as tax is only £25 and fuel consumption is brill!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,805 Posts
The same reason why I scrapped my 307. Loved the engine, it was an absolute dream. But I found the rest of the car wasn't as bombproof as the engine. Maybe because the previous owner didn't give it the TLC it needs. Too many parts needed replacing, and the task of replacing said parts was a nightmare - I found that a lot of components were made of different metals, eg. ball joint and hub, and they just bonded solid, making a 60min job an all day effort
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,900 Posts
Discussion Starter #20 (Edited)
Well I eventually managed to actually get into and interrogate the car using the digabox/pp2000 route and entering the DAM of which it only needs the first 4 digits! The ECU had the following faults logged
1.Engine ECU- Permanent fault Brake contact signal pedal info received by CAN faulty ( I have replaced the switch)
2 Engine ECU-Permanent Fault Clutch signal. No signal or signal not coherent
3 Engine ECU=Permanent fault Pre- heating relay circuit Spark plugs(!) permanently supplied
4. Engine ECU Fan assy low speed, ctl short circuit to earth, short circuit to pos, open circuit or actuator malfunction (I have completely checked all the wiring, relays and fan and no faults found)
5. Engine ECU- Intermittent fault camshaft signal. Signal incorrect ( I have removed the plug and checked and refitted it)
I erased all messages and the only one that has come back is the glow plug saga. The car is still in limp mode. Now everybody on the forum has insisted that this cannot cause limp mode!
Feeling chuffed that I had actually got to access the engine I went fishing and tried the "Global" check and lo and behold there it was. All the computers checked that were fitted and the ABS had faults on it
1. Remote intermittent fault Stop Lamp sw .intermittent. ( changed it)
2.Rear LH wheel sensor plausibility.
3. Intermittent fault Incorrect sonic wheel on one of the four wheels coherence
I cleared them and went for a ride. The ABS warning still comes on but since I replaced the front rh hub it takes a little longer than it used to but not that far as to be another new fault if you see what I mean . It had started to rain so I called it a day and so tomorrow I will try to reread the computers if I remember the sequence.
There is one thing I have noticed is that the quit button(X) on the top rh corner is never lit so if you say wanted to change to another vehicle to test it tells you to exit the present selections but I cannot because it is not live. Any ideas on that?
 
1 - 20 of 27 Posts
Top