Peugeot Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all im new on here ive a 2000 406 1.9 diesel with the engine management light on ive taken it to the garage and they baisically told me it could be anything ?????? im a fairly competent mechanic but i dont have much experience with engine management , i recently spotted an issue of car mechanics which is dealing with this issue , i have tried to find out some info on my cars diagnostic system but all i keep coming up with is that petrol cars in 2001 and after have obd2 canbus systems and 2004 for diesel cars so how do i find out what OBD is in my car and can it be read with a fault code reader i can buy from ebay or a motor factors thanks :nod:

·
Registered
9,731 Posts
In "my" experience no hand held code readers i have had will read your car (there could be i just don`t know what they are), choices are go to dealer around £80 ,find someone in your area with Peugeot Planet or buy it yourself,
whereabouts are you in the country?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
cheers im in waterford city , what is p, planet , the dealer choice here is crap one that has ripped me off before and the one that told me it could be anythig wrong with the car (electrically) looks like im gonna have to bring it to wexford or kilkenny !!

·
Registered
9,731 Posts
Peugeot Planet is the diagnostics the dealers use, i just bought one tonight but won`t get it for a couple of weeks , i`m in North antrim which is no good to you but Ron has one in Galway and i`m sure he would help out and a hell of a lot cheaper than dealer but a bit of a drive through tipp.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
cheers fella , i'll do the sums and get back to ya if i need to contact ron thanks for your help

G

·
It's ISO standard, so a multi-protocol reader should work if you have the correct connector for it.

That said, there's very limited information it'll tell you.

·
Registered
9 Posts