Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
I've just bought a brand new 308 SW 16 blue HDI active 6 speed manual for my job got the keys on the 2nd of this month. I love the car's comfort and practicality. I've put 1200 miles on it in the last 10 days and the engine is loosening up nicely but there is a but. The gear shift from 1st to 2nd is awful, notchy and prone to crash and no 2 changes are alike. Down shifting from a higher gear to 2nd is a breeze tho suggesting the syncromesh is fine (for now). Is it me I wonder? I've been driving for over 40 years and never had this problem before. I mentioned it to the dealer and they just shrugged, very Gallic eh.

Hmmmmm etc

Todd

·
Premium Member
3,063 Posts
My Allure 6 speed is the smoothest I have ever encountered.

However you might get more response if you put this in the New 308 section. The gear change has been mentioned there.

·
Registered
39 Posts
My 308 sw is same as yours, really difficult to change, usually double clutch it if I have time and remember.
I was warned that they were bad before buying but did not think it could be as bad as it is.:(
Although mine is a 14 plate.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Good car spoiled by lazy design I guess. Who remembers the old Ford 3 rail box as fitted to 1600Es and the like back in day? shifted gears like a knife thru butter
Ah well

I've mentioned the issue to the dealer and the car is to be booked in for checking in ASAP

It's still a good motor tho

·
Registered
6 Posts
Hi, I've had my2012 HDi Active a month now. When you talk about the gear change are you saying there is a small delay in power between 1st and 2nd?
I noticed the same with mine but after having a new ECU fitted (software would not upgrade and there was a fault on the car) it's been running fine although I'm unsure if my turbo is actually kicking in now ?.