Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, im looking for some help here, its a 307 1.6 Rapier petrol.

It Will turn over, wont start, I cant open windows or lock doors etc due to economy mode. Red light on dash lock button is flashing rapid.

I've put brand new battery on and changed both key batteries.

Bought pp2000, bought transponder key code. Plugged in and checked the VIN code and re entered it as it was showing back to front "D's" (sort off) presumably has it had lost all information due to flat battery.

It now shows all the info correctly, Model, Builld code, Vin.

Went through process of entering code for transponder/Key. Entered the code and the screen said "Learnt" then in what appeared to still be the same screen I entered the code again as there was no F1 or F7 button to return. On entering the code again it then says not recognised. I tried several times then it locked me out for 15 mins before I could try again.

I thought that if the battery had become flat and the BSI had just lost its marbles, if it was re started and correct info put back in the old keys would still be coded. Unless of course its had this problem previously and its already had the ECU & BSI swapped over from another car.

If it has had them replaced previously (Other car with other Vin &/or codes etc) What should I try

Whats the best plan of action here, can I just erase it all and start over again.

I hope that makes sense!!! Hope you guys can help before I loose the will to live.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Gibbo,

It was working fine, although I know the battery was almost goosed, it held enough to start it no problem (at this point though I never noticed the economy mode active) but if you left lights on for five mins with no engine it would not have enough to get it going. This happened once, jumped back in and and battery was almost flat, (only tried to start it the once) a couple of mates immediately pushed me to bump start start it and it was fine for weeks after that.

I never did anything about it but just gave car back to Mrs who had been driving for weeks. She Pull up to post a letter then got back in and its never started since.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Also just to ask,,,,,I have a Citroen zxara 1.6 petrol, the bis looks identical (had a quick look) not sure if I could swap over the ECU, BSI along with the transponder chip.

If swapped over, presuming these are the same, would I need Lexia or would PP2000 still see the car as a 307?

Just a thought
 
P

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Hi all, im looking for some help here, its a 307 1.6 Rapier petrol.

It Will turn over, wont start, I cant open windows or lock doors etc due to economy mode. Red light on dash lock button is flashing rapid.

I've put brand new battery on and changed both key batteries.

Bought pp2000, bought transponder key code. Plugged in and checked the VIN code and re entered it as it was showing back to front "D's" (sort off) presumably has it had lost all information due to flat battery.

It now shows all the info correctly, Model, Builld code, Vin.

Went through process of entering code for transponder/Key. Entered the code and the screen said "Learnt" then in what appeared to still be the same screen I entered the code again as there was no F1 or F7 button to return. On entering the code again it then says not recognised. I tried several times then it locked me out for 15 mins before I could try again.

I thought that if the battery had become flat and the BSI had just lost its marbles, if it was re started and correct info put back in the old keys would still be coded. Unless of course its had this problem previously and its already had the ECU & BSI swapped over from another car.

If it has had them replaced previously (Other car with other Vin &/or codes etc) What should I try

Whats the best plan of action here, can I just erase it all and start over again.

I hope that makes sense!!! Hope you guys can help before I loose the will to live.
What method in planet did you use to do the key. I found two different places where key learning are, one worked, one didn't.

This is method I have used several times and has worked:

http://www.peugeotforums.com/forums/307-38/vedio-shows-how-program-new-key-30282/

Is it same way you did?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Ive used that method but the menu's are slightly different, I enter the 4 digit code, PP2000 then basically only gives me the option to enter it again, it then says not recognised, pressed enter several more times and it locks the BSI for quarter of an hour
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Right despite a massive workload that will now need to wait, i'm going to get the ECU, BSI & Key fob from the Citroen. Failing that I have a 12lb sledge hammer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hi, I've looked at the BSI, tha's the same but ECU is totally different, If i was to buy a set from Breakers, what do I need to make sure I get. As far as I understand, I just need ECU. with BSI. and the transponder chip or complete key.

I also understand it will have a different VIN. number stored, but how do I go about getting the Transponder code should this go pear shaped again. Is it more than likely that the VIN stored on the new ecu/bsi will be original, to allow buying another code.

The only thing I can think is wrong with the ones I have fitted now, is they are not original hence why the VIN number on the car has generated what appears to be an incorrect code, what do you guys think.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,733 Posts
You'll need BSI , engine ecu and transponder keys , if the donor car has more mileage you'll need the clocks aswell ,
The scrap man is a wealth of knowledge , he will keep you right if you ask his advice ,
Also ask him his returns policy which is usually 10% of the cost ,
If you can get the vin number of the car it comes out of the codes can be got ,
If you replace all parts and the car still doesn't start the problem is elsewhere :(


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
6,299 Posts
You may also be able to get your ecu reprogrammed to be free running eg immobiliser removed or bsi viginised and reprogam with planet. This can often cost less the ecu and bsi etc change

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Morning all,

OK, i bought a ECU, BSI & key fob from scrapyard, assured me vehicle was running? is waqs only £30 so not a massive worry.

I fitted them to car plugged in planet and it comes up with the old information I had in for the old ECU, ie VIN, model etc.

I presumed it would have had the donor car information stored, is there something else I should have changed.???
Its also exactly the same, no start but cranks, no windows, wipers locking etc, red light quickly flashing on dash.

Any ideas what to do before I burn the car?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Hi Gibbo,

I bought a code for old BSI based on the VIN of the car, it would not work at all, not recognized, would not enter so could not get past that point so could not even get up the option to re sync new keys.

So only options as far as I understand was to virginise the old BSI, lack of time and not knowing where to go locally so this ment my best option was to nip to scrapyard and buy a full set of a car as a matched set. The money wasn't the big deal, time was.

In any case its still a static street feature. So no better off.

Until I know the ECU & BSI are all as should be its pointless looking in other areas.

Just to ask again, when I installed the new Ecu & Bsi, then plugged in planet, how come the old VIN & model was still showing up? presumably this means something else is storing vehicle info??

Ive got new battery, with +12V, new batteries in the key fobs, although only the Transponder is matched to the ne (replacment) Ecu & Bsi.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,377 Posts
Info is stored in the bsi and some in clocks/speedo but im sure the vin is only BSI

Does the car recognise the key in ignition ?

I recon you have a wiring issue unless your original BSI did get totally wiped by flat battery but if that was the case the new/replacement should work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
I've checked on planet and it says ecu is not matched to bsi, no keys matched, immobilizer active (i think)

I've lost the will to live, is there anyone near chorley fancy earning some cash to sort this out.

I don't know if its what i am doing with Planet, i tried automatic configuration but it tries to connect to internet and says it cant do it (forgot the exact phrase)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Hi reliable406

No key not recognized in the ignition.

I dont know enough about planet to be able to establish whats wrong.

Is there any user instructions?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,377 Posts
You cannot do auto configuration that is dealer only as it contacts Peugeots servers and downloads the correct info for the car !!

If it says ecu and bsi not matched are you sure you changed the correct parts over :)

You will get ECU and BSI not matched if

A they don't match

B the ECU and BSI are not communicating

C wiring faults

D power supply faults
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
I did definitely put the correct ecu and bsi in, i checked and double checked, and also after reading i checked again. :thumb:

What would you suggest checking first?

one thing i did not check are the fuses on the new bsi,

also just to add, i was sat in car earlier (via pp2000) I had locks working, radio working, info display working, it seems i can control various things through pp2000, would this suggest anything?
 

Attachments

P

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
I did definitely put the correct ecu and bsi in, i checked and double checked, and also after reading i checked again. :thumb:

What would you suggest checking first?

one thing i did not check are the fuses on the new bsi,

also just to add, i was sat in car earlier (via pp2000) I had locks working, radio working, info display working, it seems i can control various things through pp2000, would this suggest anything?
If i read that correctly, the car hasn't got any keys learnt to it. Prob why not starting.
 
1 - 20 of 30 Posts
Top