Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

Newbie here with a car with countless problems!!!
Bought in april for £1300 so far had a new clutch (£600), new alternator (£200), new exhaust (£180), plus coutless other bits and pieces! Thought that was it for my run of bad luck but just realised something else today!!!

Ok, so its warm today right 21 degrees, car running at 70......75......80......85....90.....92....85....80....92...90... this has only just started happening.

Thought, thats a bit weird. Got home, left the car idling, same problem. Checked the cooling fan.....JACKPOT. Not working, brilliant I thought! Checked all the seating of all the connections, hit the fan with a spanner, fired it back up and boom, it worked! I thought brilliant!
Turned car off, started again, fan not working, damn.

Finally after hours of head scratching and internet research figured out that the cooling fan comes on when i switch the air con on in the car. Someone said that this could be a busted relay. Is this right? Should I take this to an auto electrician before my mammoth trek from Leeds to Bournemouth this weekend? Also, how much is my wallet going to suffer?
Any help would be muchly appreciated!!!

I really really love my car, but really hate the fact that the reliability of the 307 aint particularly good (electronics-wise)!

Thanks,

Tom

·
11,711 Posts
Don't give up, there are some good 307s out there. My first one did over 50,000 in two years with virtually no problems (ABS sensors needed cleaning and re-seating and I needed to repair the heater block because of a burnt out wire), and my current one which is up for sale is pretty much immaculate so someone is going to get a really good car!