Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm new to this so bare with me.

I'm looking at buying a Peugeot 207 1.6 HDI GT 110.

I've seen reviews saying this engine is a pile of s**t as it has issues with carbon build up which I believe causes oil starvation to the turbo and messes up the turbo. Correct me if I'm wrong?

However, I understand that these HDI engines were made by Ford and the PSA group and these engines were put in cars such as the Ford, Citroen, Peugeot, Mini Cooper etc and looking at the reviews, they arnt so bad? I saw a few issues with turbos etc but it seems like it's the 207's HDI engines that seem to be the worst? Why? Is it because the 110 HDI engine has an inter cooler and the 90 HDI engine doesn't?

To cut a long story short, I've taken 'a shine' to the 207 GT HDI 110 and I love it. However, things about the HDI 110 engine don't sound too good??

Is there a way of avoiding problems with the HDI engine? I believe that flushing the engine and regular servicing is recommended but does it help? Calling on all HDI owners to please help me out. Like I said, I'm in love with the 207 but not sure what to do? Honest opinions, please!

Many thanks:lol::lol:

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oh, and also..I've considered the petrol engines too, which I believe Peugeot made with BMW? Thoughts on those VTI/THP engines aswell please? Any recommendations and opinions are needed. Not sure what engine to go for, thanks again!:lol::nod::)

·
Registered
5,906 Posts
Peugeots are not the only cars that get many internet reports of carbon build up and blown turbos. If you trawl the forums for most makes of cars you will read many tales of woe.

A strict service routine which includes regular oil changes at shorter intervals than the recommended interval using a good quality oil of the correct grade is required to prevent carbon build up which gets into the oil and blocks the turbo feed pipe.