Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, newbie here so my apologies if this has been answered before. I could only find threads about 207s with the HDI engine.

I have 207 1.4 VTI, 2008 57 model with 65k on the clock. I seem to be putting in a lot of oil - it needs topping up every couple of tanks.

Does this seem excessive? It does to me. There are no obvious oil leaks.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am putting in about half a litre every couple of tanks - about every 800 miles.

Basically, I put oil in every time I get the 'check oil' message. On checking actual dipstick the level is just about at the lower marker each time.

R

·
0 Posts
have you checked to see if you have blue smoke out the exhaust you could be burning it.you shouldnt be topping it up that much so often.theres not alot of places it could be going if theres no leaks then chances are your burning it which could be vaulve guide seals or worn piston rings..

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I'm using 5w30 fully synthetic oil, usually Mobil 1.

I haven't noticed any excessive smoke, but I will ask the wife to rev the engine whilst I have a look.

Would excessive oil burning cause an emissions fail on MOT? As it passed with no problems just recently.

·
Registered
145 Posts
hi tom try using a heavier oil like 10/40....i think 5/30 is too light almost like pee lol...my avensis drinks the oil but thats a fault on these...an will need a new short engine..mine has passed mot no probs just make sure you heat that cat up before u go to centre.an try using new oil before the test too.i put lucus oil stabilizer in with my oil seems to help .!just keep an eye on it an keep it topped up:thumb:

C

·
0 Posts
I am putting in about half a litre every couple of tanks - about every 800 miles.

Basically, I put oil in every time I get the 'check oil' message. On checking actual dipstick the level is just about at the lower marker each time.