Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all new here and I have no experience with cars what so ever ?

So 2 weeks ago I bought a Peugeot 207 , 1.4 with full service history on 66,000 miles for £600 .

Seemed to cheap at the time ( hindsight is a marvellous thing ) ...

I checked the cap on the engine and there was no mayo so thought this was a good thing ( only thing I knew to check for )

Upon getting home and looking through the folder I Noticed in with the documents was a new thermostat receipt for the day before I bought it.

It was fine for a week and the one day last week it flashed up stop and the temperature was at full . I immediately pulled over . After an hour I lifted the bonnet and checked the water/coolant bottle and it was empty . I thought maybe it hadn't been topped up so I refilled it and drove home . Checked the car again and the bottle was empty . I then thought maybe the head gasket may have gone ? Checked the cap again and there is a small amount of mayo .... checked the dip stick but there was no mayo on that .

I did notice however ( not when I bought it tho ? That the water/coolant tank is a brownish colour and is a little greasy inside ?

A mechanic was supposed to turn up yesterday to have a look but didn't show up .

I'm just wondering if anyone has any ideas at what I'm looking at ?

Many thanks

·
Registered
453 Posts
Doesn't sound too good but at least its only the 8 valve engine and therefore quite easy to do a head gasket (if you've not warped the head) for someone with reasonably good mech skills
Get a "sniff" test done at a garage asap but keep a very close eye on water level
Just looked at your picture again and written on the engine is C&? 61680 which I would suggest is when the cambelt was changed - look in the history and see if it had a water pump too

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4