Peugeot Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, looking for some help here.

Car is a 2002 307 1.4 8v (KFW) that had blown its head gasket, i replaced this myself yesterday along with a new timing belt. Gone to start it afterwards and it fired into life for a few seconds and then died, tried again and the same thing happened.

I am at my wits end with it, tried everything i can think of and things others have suggested on the internet. I'm a fairly competent home mechanic but i have my limitations, especially when it comes to electrics etc.

The only thing i have managed to 'diagnose' is cranking the engine with the coil pack removed, then removing the spark plugs shows no signs of wet plugs/fuel getting into the cylinders, however it's baffling me that it did fire up a couple times albeit only for a few seconds.

As far as i'm aware the immobiliser is fine (can hear the usual beep with key held close to ignition with the door open), fuel is being pumped to the injector rail (plenty of fuel coming out of the fuel feed if i disconnect it from the injectors), i am getting a strong spark from each plug/coil.

Me and my partner really need to get the car running again before we go back to work tuesday so any help is greatly appreciated! I don't have access to a fault code reader and it being bank holiday weekend no garages are going to be open.

Thanks
Matt

·
Registered
2,456 Posts
If you have spark and fuel, the only things left are timing and air. For timing, the usual fault seems to be the crankshaft sensor, and for air the MAP sensor.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3