Heater Fan Resistor and using electrically conductive grease.. what do people think? - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise

Go Back   Peugeot Forums > Peugeot Models > Vans
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-17, 09:57 AM   #1

Default Heater Fan Resistor and using electrically conductive grease.. what do people think?

Hi,
I must first say that I am no expert, but I do own an Expert Tepee!
My problem has been a common one apparently, that the heater fan resistor connections are failing and causing the fan to only work on maximum. They are in a sorry state having overheated and slightly melted due I suppose to high resistance in the connections.
I cleaned them up and despite the condition the heater worked again for a short time.
I had followed a thread on the forum under the Van section that was very helpful but I wondered if there was a way to increase the life of this part by using some electrical conductive grease, in my imagination it was copper grease.
Actually on further investigation copper grease is not good.
My main worry was that it was a crazy idea as the grease might melt with heat and conduct electricity everywhere shorting things out.
I am about to replace the connector on my resistor now and am thinking again about the idea.
So I am raising this topic for discussion.
Apparently conductive grease is used a lot to prevent corrosion which would cause exactly the problem we experience all the time with heater resistor connections, I am not sure what they are made of but they break down and do not conduct effectively after a while.
One place the grease is often used is battery terminals.
This is also one place where the plus and minus is far apart...
So does little to calm my worries about shorting out.