indicator stalk 'autolights' - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise


Go Back   Peugeot Forums > General > Off-topic
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-02-14, 10:08 AM   #1
Inactive User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: colchester
Posts: 8
Default indicator stalk 'autolights'

Hi
I need some help with my indicator stalk with auto lights/wipers. The problem is the lights just jeep coming on when I turn the ignition on. I push the little button on the stalk, it turns off for 2secs then comes back on and I ain't even turned my lights on. I think there maybe a loose wire in the stalk but there it is a closed unit behind the steering wheel. I can't access it so I guess I want to just remove the fuse but can't find the fuse. I hope this makes sense. Any help will be good.

My car is a Peugeot 206 hdi 1.4 LX 2002
DMGBADB1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 15-02-14, 10:26 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: falkirk
Posts: 14,043
Default

Wiggle the stalk around do the lights go back off if so your comm unit is faulty
reliable406 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 15-02-14, 10:33 AM   #3
Inactive User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: colchester
Posts: 8
Default yes but the stalk is not really loose

Hi reliable 406
Yes if I lightly like feather touch the stalk it goes off then comes back on. If I could just remove the fuse would be good. Or if I was to open the closed unit would it be easy to fix. I don't really have the money to buy a whole unit.
DMGBADB1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 15-02-14, 10:43 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: falkirk
Posts: 14,043
Default

You cannot remove a fuse as there is no fuse specific to autolights it is integrated into the cars electronics.
reliable406 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 15-02-14, 10:52 AM   #5
Inactive User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: colchester
Posts: 8
Default

There is a sensor unit behind the rear view mirror. The controls the auto lights i think. Could I remove this. What would happen if I removed it?
DMGBADB1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 15-02-14, 11:24 AM   #6
Inactive User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Blackburn, Lancs.
Posts: 691
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMGBADB1 View Post
There is a sensor unit behind the rear view mirror. The controls the auto lights i think. Could I remove this. What would happen if I removed it?
It is also used for the auto wipers so you would lose that function as well.
steve18gls is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 15-02-14, 11:38 AM   #7
Inactive User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: colchester
Posts: 8
Default

I don't really need the auto wipers. Is this item easy to remove? And what other problems would removing this unit cause? Your help has been great reliable 406. I just need to get rid of this problem as its driving me nuts lol
DMGBADB1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 15-02-14, 11:47 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: falkirk
Posts: 14,043
Default

My sons car is doing the same and he DOES NOT have auto lights the sensor is not the problem the fault is in the comm unit.
reliable406 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 15-02-14, 11:55 AM   #9
Inactive User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Blackburn, Lancs.
Posts: 691
Default

The fault is probably due to a worn stalk but only replacing it will tell.
steve18gls is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 15-02-14, 12:59 PM   #10
Inactive User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: colchester
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks reliable 406 I think I'll suffer it till after my easter holiday then take it apart or buy a new unit.
DMGBADB1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Peugeot Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:44 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.