How to stretch your Wifi ? - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise


Go Back   Peugeot Forums > General > Off-topic
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-12, 06:26 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
bettyswollocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 9,737
Default How to stretch your Wifi ?

Right my mate has Broadband wifi in the house but wants to pick up a signal in his garage about 100m away , how can he boost signal , major factor he`s as tight as a ducks ass .
bettyswollocks is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-02-12, 06:49 PM   #2
Moderator
 
trem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south shields,tyneside
Posts: 5,004
Default

ahh the classic 'my mate wants' eh
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2004 Iron Grey 136bhp 2.0 hdi SE .........Written off
2006 Icelandic Grey 136bhp 2.0HDI SE......Written off
2006 Silver 136bhp 2.0hdi SE......Current car
Join us on FB "Peugeot 407 uk"
trem1 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-12, 06:52 PM   #3
Inactive User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 186
Default

Does he have line of sight to the garage ?

If it does get a couple of these Solwise - EnGenius EOC-1650 Access Point/Client

Cheapest method though would be to bury a ethernet cable and hook up a second wifi router in the garage.

Another way would be if the electrics for the garage are ran from the house use powerline networking TP-LINK Technologies TP-Link TL-PA211KIT AV200 Mini Powerline Starter Kit Bridge - EN, Fast EN, HomePlug AV (HPAV) but you will need to stick a plug in before any ECB to keep the signal high enough.
Karl68s is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-02-12, 07:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bettyswollocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 9,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trem1 View Post
ahh the classic 'my mate wants' eh
My garage is 6 feet from my house and i don`t intend to work out there , too bloody cold

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karl68s View Post
Does he have line of sight to the garage ?

If it does get a couple of these Solwise - EnGenius EOC-1650 Access Point/Client

Cheapest method though would be to bury a ethernet cable and hook up a second wifi router in the garage.

Another way would be if the electrics for the garage are ran from the house use powerline networking TP-LINK Technologies TP-Link TL-PA211KIT AV200 Mini Powerline Starter Kit Bridge - EN, Fast EN, HomePlug AV (HPAV) but you will need to stick a plug in before any ECB to keep the signal high enough.
Yes he has line off sight mate
bettyswollocks is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-12, 10:46 AM   #5
chopper1192
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Some kind of proper antenna, mounted high up as poss. May require some mods to the router, but easy for a radio spamateur like wot I is.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-12, 12:56 PM   #6
Inactive User
 
john_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gateshead - Tyne and Wear
Posts: 4,512
Default

would definitely need access points, he buy a few and link them and input the hops required.

his cheapest option would be to, as mentioned, wire it and install a wireless access point in the garage.

although there are routers out there that can reach but the prices keep me away!



john_h is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-12, 12:58 PM   #7
Moderator
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southport
Posts: 11,661
Default

Cable it up. Will be far cheaper and better signal than trying to use Wireless bridges.
__________________
Planet Diags: Sefton - Merseyside
Gibbo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-12, 03:28 PM   #8
Stubbo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

At a 100m stretch you'll exceed the max length of cat5 anyway, unless you put in a repeater along the way somehow!

We once used as couple of zyxel routers with external zyair antennas over a 50m (ish) span which wasnt too bad, however this was in southern france where it is always a nice clear day!

I can find model numbers if thats the route they wanna go down, think outdoor range was rated at 150-300m

Saying that powerline is a top idea from karl, id probably go for that myself!

Last edited by Stubbo; 06-02-12 at 03:32 PM.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-12, 03:43 PM   #9
Inactive User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: at home
Posts: 40
Question 100 meters

that's a long distance? to long for a cable and the work of digging a trench 100 meters long? you would need to contact someone like chopper1192 a radio ham , failing this then get in contact with a telecommunications company like bt.
davidphilips is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-12, 05:19 PM   #10
Inactive User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 186
Default

Who said cat 5

CAT-5 is rated to 100M
CAT-5e is rated to 350M
CAT-6 and CAT6e is rated to 550M or 1000M depending on your source
CAT-7 is supposedly rated to 700M or presumably 1000M

I would go for CAT 6e distance and shielding is plenty good enough and you should pick it up for about 50 a 100M roll.

Couple of plugs a cheap wireless router and he is sorted.

Either that or the bridges I mentioned
Karl68s is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Peugeot Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:44 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.