Bringing the shine back after painting. - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise

Go Back   Peugeot Forums > Peugeot Tuning & Modifications > Bodyshop Techniques & Modifications
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-06-13, 10:30 PM   #1
Inactive User

Default Bringing the shine back after painting.

Hi, decided to try and get the wing looking like the rest of the car today, there's a few scratches on it so I wanted to get it looking nice.

Got some paint mixed up at halfords in an aerosol and also in a tin and brush.
This is my first time doing something like this so be easy..

I cleaned up the area with some rubbing alcohol to get rid of the grease and dirt, lightly sanded it with wet/dry 1200 and gave it a light coat of the aerosol. The color is an exact match, apart from it's dried a matte color with no shine.

I made a 2nd trip to hafords, got some clear lacquer, applied a thin coat and it's exactly the same.

So, just wanting to know what I need to do next. Read I should get some "clear coat" is this not the same as lacquer?

Should I buy a mop buffer and buff it to a shine?

Any advice is gratefully appreciated as I'm now driving around in a metallic car with a matte wing.

Cheers.
DavexISO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 13-06-13, 11:01 PM   #2