noob with a few problems - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise

Go Back   Peugeot Forums > Peugeot Models > 407
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16-12-18, 06:08 PM   #1

Default noob with a few problems

Hi guys. Noob here.

A little background before I launch into my problems! I'm not entirely new to peugeots, having hd a 306 1.9td years ago. I normally drive an Audi A8 4.2 TDi but a couple of weeks ago one of the timing chains snapped and wrecked the engine - which I'm hoping to fix still... I still have three years left to pay for the thing!

As I live out in the Scottish highlands and travel 30 odd miles to work every day I needed another car to tide me over until I have fixed the Audi, which will likely take me months and months to do. So I bought myself a 2005 407 2.0HDi saloon. Body work is in excellent condition as is the interior although the electrics are typically french.

The day after I bought it, the screen started working and showed a DPF additive low fault. So 100ish notes lighter I got the fluid and filled it up (although the message still needs cleared). The heater is stuck on "temperature of the sun" and cant be turned down (set to 14 degrees).

Six days after buying it I went round a bend at 60mph and suddenly started spinning all over the place amid a shower of sparks and flew into a field. the fornt drivers side suspension had completely collapsed. The PO had replaced the hub but the garage hadn't put a nut on the bolt that attaches everything to the bottom link and it had worked its way out.