Mysterious knock in rattly engine - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise

Go Back   Peugeot Forums > Peugeot Models > 407
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31-10-10, 06:37 PM   #1
Inactive User

Default Mysterious knock in rattly engine

Hi to everyone.

I am really hoping that some of you on this site can help me with the problems I am having with my 407 2.0HDi. Please excuse any vagueness as I am not a mechanic just a frustrated 407 owner who desperately needs help.

All my problems started when I had to have the diesel additive topped up at about 98,000 miles. My car is a taxi and I cover high mileage. Each day I have off work with problems costs me a fortune.

Basically the engine started to knock which I initially thought was tappets and rockers. However after a Peugeot technician friend put the car on the Planet software it was discovered that the flow corrections on the injectors were incorrect. The car was then taken to John Hoggs in Sheffield where they tested the injectors and found them to be working correctly. However when refitted and coded the knocking had disappeared. So I thought it was a bit of dirt in the nozzles and everything was now ok. However after a few days the knocking came back. At this point I was advised to contact Feather Diesels in Elland near Halifax. They put all four injectors through a series of about 200 tests on their diagnostic equipment. Each injector failed and it was decided they needed to be rebuilt at a cost of 875.00.