ESP/ASR Fault **SOLVED** - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise

Go Back   Peugeot Forums > Peugeot Models > 407
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By nickspug407

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-16, 07:02 AM   #1
Inactive User

Default ESP/ASR Fault **SOLVED**

Hi,

I'm Nick im new to the Peugeot forum. I just thought I'd share with you a fault that I had on my Peugeot 407 shortly after buying it last month.

Intermittently when I broke a warning would come on the dash saying ESP/ASR fault along with a triangle on the instrument panel with a swerving car with a cross through it.

Quite an annoying fault as it was happening more and more often. I gathered it was a fault with one or several of the ABS sensors as that is what most if not all the searches come up with on Google. This fault arising also meant I could not use cruise control because of a speed control fault or something like that.

One of my friends at the weekend followed me as we were on a trip out. When we arrived he said my brake lights weren't always coming on and when they did they were flashing. So I went down to euro car parts and for 19 picked up a brake light sensor which is oddly fitted on the passenger side of the car. I put it on and hey presto TOUCH WOOD!!! all faults have now gone. So PLEASE guys if you have this issue try the brake light switch/ sensor first as this is a vastly cheaper repair than replacing ABS sensors which potentially are not the cause of the issue.

Thanks
neecola likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-03-16, 07:21 AM   #2

Welcome aboard. We'd normally recommend a Planet diagnostic, which would bring up the fault code for a faulty brake switch.

The same problem also plagues the Citroen C4: