407 Engine Cutting Out - Please Help - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise

Go Back   Peugeot Forums > Peugeot Models > 407
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-10-13, 06:28 PM   #1
Inactive User

Default 407 Engine Cutting Out - Please Help

OK, so I am a complete novice when it comes to these things.

My car is a Peugeot 407 Se Hdi on an 07 plate. Had it for about 18 months now, and there has always been an occasional case of putting my foot down and the car misfires.

Since Friday this has become a lot worse. On Friday morning pulling away on a major London A road, the car failed to respond, lurched and the ASR/ESP Fault light came on.

Managed however to limp it to work, but on the way home that night it regularly did the same thing, then, again accelerating on a road it appeared to only be firing on 2 or 3 cylinders through 2nd and third gear.

Tonight on the way home it again started misfiring, then the whole engine just cut out. It would not start for about 40 seconds, then turning the ignition started it up again. Limped it home, again with the intermittent cut outs.

When it is running it's running fine, so I don't think it is terminal, however, I am worried to drive it as it could cut out when pulling out which could be dangerous.

Have no other way of getting about and am currently skint!

I realise I will need a diagnostic - have no idea how to go about this.

Sorry to be such an amateur but any help / advice would be totally appreciated!

Thanks,

john
ratty is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 28-10-13, 06:38 PM   #2

https://www.peugeotforums.com/forums/...gnostic-28190/
Old 28-10-13, 06:42 PM   #3
Inactive User