"Engine fault - repair needed. Risk of particle filter clogging" - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise

Go Back   Peugeot Forums > Peugeot Models > 308 > 308 (2007-2014)
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31-01-18, 02:34 PM   #1

Default "Engine fault - repair needed. Risk of particle filter clogging"

Hi all, I'm a newbie to the forum and Peugeot ownership and would appreciate your advice. Sorry if covered before but I've searched and not found the answer.

Have recently bought a 2011 308 SR SW HDI 92. It is a 1 owner fsh car with all invoices since new and in great condition, despite 222,000 miles.

In November 2016 it had a full service and DPF fluid refill (220 just for the refill) at 207,000 miles, so should not need another refill anytime soon. The warning light and fault detail stated in title of thread above came on recently. Last week car did a 300 mile return trip and yesterday 250 mile return trip, giving plenty of opportunity to regenerate. Yesterday on a long downhill I put in low gear and revved to about 4000 rpm. Despite this the warnings still come on on start-up.

If I ignore the warnings (performance is still great), will it eventually go into "limp mode" to force a remedial action? Secondly, I'm tempted to use a manual additive in the fuel (Archoil AR 6900D) to keep everything clean, in lieu of (or it could be in addition to) the cars own system. BUT, will the car still regenerate with the warning light system on? The regen is still needed for the Archoil additive to do its work.

Maybe the DPF is in need of replacement or manual cleaning, due to the very high mileage covered?

Any thoughts greatly appreciated - thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Chris.