Antipollution fault/Catalytic converter fault/P1338 - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise

Go Back   Peugeot Forums > Peugeot Models > 307
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-18, 08:02 PM   #1

Default Antipollution fault/Catalytic converter fault/P1338

Greetings.

I'm a bit of a novice, but I have time, good advisors and we can do without the car for a few days/weeks. I'm treating this as a learning experience and I'm not adverse to buying equipment and parts to fix it.

The car is a 307 SW, manual, 1.6 16v Petrol, NFU(TU5JP4), Registered 2005/01, driven 156000km. Timing belt is relatively recent. I have only had it for a month.

The error started after a short stop at the gas station. Rough idle and Antipollution fault/Catalytic converter fault on the display. The car will drive OK and we are not sure if it has lost power on higher revs, but the acceleration is uneven especially at lower revs.

We have the Lexia3/Planet kit in the mail, but I wanted to see how I can do without. Borrowed a cheap ELM 327 OBD reader and it reports P1338. The Oxygen sensors show live data and I can't tell anything else from OBD reader.

I can't see anything leaking, no weird sound and no weird smoke.

What is wrong with my car? What is my plan of attack? Wait for the Planet kit or should I run some tests before it comes? Are there cheap parts I should order and test before giving up trying this by myself? Is a compression test in order and what would that tell me? There are some cheap kits out there.

The faults I keep reading about with similar problems are bad Coil packs, Injectors, Oxygen sensors (probably not since I get live data?) and Exhaust valves.

Last edited by Notandi; 12-10-18 at 07:52 AM.