Car driving itself - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise

Go Back   Peugeot Forums > Peugeot Models > 306
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-16, 06:11 PM   #1
Inactive User

Default Car driving itself

Hi guys,

I'm new to Peugeots and driving in general. My car is:

Peugeot 306 - 2.0 Litre - HDI - Diesel - Year 2000

I made the biggest beginners mistake ever! I had little fuel in and went to add fuel to my lovely little car. I added half a tank of petrol by mistake and didn't realise until the next morning (after driving it around all day). When I tried to start my car I experiencing it struggling to start, followed by a lot of white smoke. At this point I checked my receipt and saw that I added Unleaded. I was advised by a guy at my local scrap yard to try and get it to a petrol station and fill it up as much as possible with Diesel, which I have. For the last few mornings I have been getting white smoke for about 10 seconds and then it is fine. I have been advised that once the tank gets to half way, I should top it back up with Diesel, before using all the fuel.

I teach at a college and I have spoken to somebody who I believe knows a thing or two about cars from the college. I explained another issue I have been getting since. Shortly after braking (in gears 2 and 3 mainly), my car seems to just drive itself. The revs are not going through the roof as I have seen on other posts. It seems to maintain the speed, rather than accelerating.