207 1.4 VTI - excessive oil consumption? - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise

Go Back   Peugeot Forums > Peugeot Models > 207
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-12, 08:34 AM   #1
Inactive User

Default 207 1.4 VTI - excessive oil consumption?

Hello, newbie here so my apologies if this has been answered before. I could only find threads about 207s with the HDI engine.

I have 207 1.4 VTI, 2008 57 model with 65k on the clock. I seem to be putting in a lot of oil - it needs topping up every couple of tanks.

Does this seem excessive? It does to me. There are no obvious oil leaks.
207 Tom is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-12-12, 09:40 PM   #2
Inactive User

How much are you putting in every time you top up and how far do you go before fill ups?
MadV is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-12, 10:04 PM   #3
chopper1192

How much per 1000 miles?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-12-12, 10:08 PM   #4
Inactive User

I am putting in about half a litre every couple of tanks - about every 800 miles.

Basically, I put oil in every time I get the 'check oil' message. On checking actual dipstick the level is just about at the lower marker each time.
Old 04-12-12, 10:17 PM   #5
rogersimons

have you checked to see if you have blue smoke out the exhaust you could be burning it.you shouldnt be topping it up that much so often.theres not alot of places it could be going if theres no leaks then chances are your burning it which could be vaulve guide seals or worn piston rings..
Old 04-12-12, 11:13 PM   #6
Inactive User