Xsi Rally car problems?! - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise

Go Back   Peugeot Forums > Peugeot Models > 106
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Herald1966
  • 2 Post By Herald1966

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16-08-17, 09:03 PM   #1

Default Xsi Rally car problems?!

Hi, I am very new to the whole Peugeot scene, mainly because I don't actually own a Peugeot yet! However I have been offered a 1992 106 xsi converted to rally spec if I can fix it; the owner is at their wits end and cannot find a solution. Needless to say, I am very keen to get my hands on a rally car on the cheap!

The problem is that the near side drive shaft has excessive play in it and needs replacing, but the car has a 205 gearbox in it and so the owner says that a 106 driveshaft won't fit, and a 205 unit will be too short. The current drive shaft (whatever it is) fits perfectly so I could always have a new one made with slightly finer tolerances to eliminate the play, but doing so would also eliminate the cheap aspect of the car! So any advice on what driveshaft will fit/ any other options would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Herald1966 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-12-18, 09:49 PM   #2

Well, long story short, I got the car, and got it back on the road.

It's been more than a year now and I have experienced considerable problems with the car. In fact, I have had pretty major issues with it consistently.

I made a huge amount of progress late last year/early this year and drove it for a number of months - as it is to rally spec I particularly enjoyed driving it in the Winter and the 'Beast from the East'!