106 Diesel Advice - Peugeot Forums
Peugeot Forums - Peueot - Citroen Community
Home :: Peugeot Forums :: Rules :: Articles :: About Us :: Partner Vendors :: Advertise

Go Back   Peugeot Forums > Peugeot Models > 106
PeugeotForums.com is the premier Peugeot All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-05-16, 10:16 PM   #1
Inactive User

Default 106 Diesel Advice

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to Peugeot's (used to have a few petrol ones in the family but I was very young then) and had Mercedes and BMW

I'm looking for a car to run on veg (once again, did it with a 190D previously), and know that the XUD's are great for this (Bosch pump only). I'm looking for a 205/309 but they are pretty rare now days.

I wanted to consider the 106 also as I quite like them (and dare I say it Saxo too!)

Is the story the same with TUD engines? Are they as good as XUD's for this? Do they require a Bosch pump also? or are the lucas ones OK? Are the newer models no good for veg etc?

I've also heard the 1.4 diesels are best avoided. Is this true?

Thanks

Naim
naim22 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 18-05-16, 07:12 AM   #2

Can't speak about the TUD engine but the 1.5 diesel in the older 106s should be fine.

HDIs won't like veg oil though, and I'm guessing all 1.4 diesels are HDI.
Old 18-05-16, 08:46 AM   #3
Inactive User

I think there was a 1.4 TUD engine (common consensus seems to be this is terrible) in early 106's, then a 1.5 TUD engine then a 1.4 HDi

I dont want HDi as its no good for veg.

Old 18-05-16, 02:29 PM   #4

106`s never had a HDi diesel engine.

From 1991 to 94 they had a 1.4 TUD3Y engine with a Lucas pump.
1995 to 2003 it had a 1.5 TUD5Y engine with Lucas pump.

Then from 1999 there was also a 1.5 TUD5Y with a fancy Bosch pump,EGR,Kat and all that stuff.